Year 11 & 12 (Stage 6)

Subject Choices

In Year 11 and 12, students are encouraged to choose subjects that they are good at and that they enjoy. A significant part of the next two years will be spent learning and completing work for these subjects.

Some subjects are ONE unit, while most are TWO unit subjects. Year 11 students need to complete 12 units, while Year 12 students need to complete 10 units of work. More details about this can be found on the NESA website.

Below we have listed the range of subjects currently offered, grouped by Key Learning Area.

Subject lines are usually published early in Term 3 for Year 10 students to make their choices from each of the 7 lines on offer. The structure of the lines and some subjects may vary a little from year to year based on data collected from students. Line 1 is English and all students are required to select from this line.

Creative Arts
  • Drama
  • Music 1
  • Photography, Video & Digital Imaging
  • Visual Arts
  • English Standard
  • English Advanced
  • English Studies
  • English Extension
Human Society & Its Environment
  • Ancient History
  • Business Studies
  • Economics
  • Geography
  • Legal Studies
  • Modern History
  • Studies of Religion I
  • Studies of Religion II
  • Work Studies
  • Mathematics Standard
  • Mathematics Advanced
  • Mathematics Extension 1
Personal Development, Health & Physical Education
  • Community & Family Studies
  • Personal Development, Health & Physical Education
  • Sport, Lifestyle & Recreation
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth & Environmental Science
  • Marine Studies
  • Physics
  • Design & Technology
  • Food Technology
  • Industrial Technology - Multimedia
  • Textiles & Design

Take the next step

Enrol Now