Frequently Asked Questions

What is an ATAR?

The ATAR is a rank, not a mark.

The Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) is a number between 0.00 and 99.95 that indicates a student’s position relative to all the students in their age group (ie all 16 to 20-year-olds in NSW). So, an ATAR of 80.00 means that you are 20 per cent from the top of your age group (not your Year 12 group).

Universities use the ATAR to help them select students for their courses and admission to most tertiary courses is based on your selection rank (your ATAR + any applicable adjustments). Most universities also use other criteria when selecting students (eg a personal statement, a questionnaire, a portfolio of work, an audition, an interview or a test).

What do I need to consider when choosing my subjects?

Certain patterns of study and course requirements apply.

You must satisfactorily complete:

  • a Preliminary pattern of study that includes at least 12 units
  • an HSC pattern of study that includes at least 10 units.

Both patterns of study must include at least:

  • 6 units of Board Developed Courses
  • 2 units of a Board Developed Course in English
  • 3 courses of 2 or more units (either Board Developed or Board Endorsed Courses)
  • 4 subjects

Some courses have certain rules and prerequisites. For example, you can include English Studies in your 6 units of Board Developed Courses, but you can only count it as the 2 units of English that UAC uses to calculate an ATAR if you sit the optional HSC examination.

For further details please visit the NESA website.

Take the next step

Enrol Now